Moana dress, Papercut Patterns 


As soon as I saw the ‘ahoy’ collection from Papercut Patterns, I knew I had to have the moana dress and the adrift dress. I have never worked with Papercut Patterns before so I was unsure of how they would fit me. So, I decided to start with the moana in the top version.  I looked around the interwebs and Saw that this top is designed to show some midriff. My 41-year old self is not down with that. So, I lengthened the top 6-inches (I am 5’8″) and hoped for the best. As I was cutting the fabric, I was wondering what I had been thinking. This top was going to look horrible on my pear-shaped self. But, since the fabric I was using was from the clearance section of joanns (a remnant of Gertie rayon challis) I threw caution to the wind and pressed on. 

Let me tell you, I love this top. I finished it Saturday morning and wore it that afternoon to a birthday party. 


The extra 6-inches did the trick, no midriff baring incidents to report.  I made a small in the bust grading to between the large and X-large at the waist. I used my serger and did a rolled hem on the ruffle. I used wooly nylon in the upper and lower loopers. This was the first time I have ever done that, it turned out really nice. 

Next I will be making the dress version.

Here is the link In case you want to check out the pattern. 

http://papercutpatterns.com/collections/ahoy/products/adrift-dress-skirt

 Kelly 

Leave a Reply

