Lottie blouse and Burda 6580

My pattern finally arrived from across the pond. Since I am beginning to know my measurements and size in patterns better, I decided to just sew up a 12 at the bust and a 14 for the waist and hips. The waist and hips sizing on the chart matches my measurements exactly.  I altered the neckline and traced the size 8 keyhole. I was afraid the size 12 keyhole came down too low. I am an A cup and I think things end up sitting even lower on my chest than they would on a more well endowed lady… I also ended up clipping th curve of the keyhole so it wasn’t a corner, but more of a curve. 

I dipped my toe into French seams as I was following a sew along by queen of darts:  http://www.queenofdarts.com/2015/03/lottie-blouse-sew-along-week-1-lets.html?m=1

I did the shoulders as French seams, but followed the pattern for flat sleeve insertion which meant no French seems on the side seams. The sew along also shows a much better way to attach the collar than the pattern instructions have. Very clean finish. Verdict – I love this blouse. 


I wore it to a meeting and want to make more. I used a cotton lawn, so this one had more body then say a challis. But a challis one is next in my cue.  Right after I finish Burda 6580 

I have view A almost all cut out. The front is a single price cut on the bias. This is my first bias cut garmet. Kind of struggling with how to stay stitch this rayon challis. By machine? Will that stretch it out? By hand?  

Keep sewing! 

Leave a Reply

