The See Kate sew – city girl top and frock debacle. 

I am trying to not buy patterns unless I really know they fit in with my lifestyle and I will actually wear them. When I first started sewing, I was buying those 40’s and 60’s reproduction prints, all kinds of dresses- things I would never in a million years actually wear. I am a tshirt and pants gal, though I do like sun dresses in summer. So I happily plunked down money for the city girl top:


And bought some sweater knit from joanns (I’ll circle back round to this issue in a bit). I have a bone to pick with this pattern – there is not one freaking notch anywhere on this entire pattern. Now, I know how to figure it out, but if you were new to sewing, this would make it more challenging.  Notches are really needed to ensure you have gathered the front equally on both sides of center front. No notch at top of sleeve head to align with shoulder seam, both of which would have been nice. If I am downloading a free pattern, I can expect to put some work in on it. But, I am paying for a professional pattern and this was far from it. There is no fabric layout for cutting your pieces!  I barely had enough fabric and had to cut the sleeves on the cross grain to make them fit. So my sleeves are not stretchy in the right direction.  A layout diagram would have been very helpful. There is no mention of stay stitching, no reinforcing shoulder seam with stay tape/ clear elastic, none of the details I see on every other pattern. Also, I had to narrow the cowl piece by a good 6 inches to get it to fit the neckline. It was way too long. Another gripe is that it does not come with long sleeves. I drafted them, but really how hard would it have been to include them.  All said though, I love this top:

Next time I will not interface the cowl, totally unnecessary unless you are dealing with a thin knit. I also picked a length inbetween the top and tunic and graded from a medium at the bust to a large at the waist/hips. I am going to make this again, I really do like it. 
The fabric!  I still make novice mistakes. I saw this sweater knit and it fades from light to dark so I bought the orange/red and black/grey color ways specifically for this pattern.  But the fade runs with the grain, so if I wanted the top to be lighter by the shoulder and get darker toward the hem, I had to cut perpendicular to the selvage. This meant no stretch. Ugh, I would have passed on this fabric had I noticed that. Who wants fading around a top, it just looks like you got badly died fabric!  For the grey to black one, I am just going to cut the normal way parallel to the grain and see how that looks. I need the stretch in my arms!  

I have a lot of unblogged projects to catch up on!  I hope everybody had a great Christmas and a happy new year!

  • Kelly

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/16262379/?claim=4uchn2es34n”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

