City Girl Frock Second Chance

So, I sewed the dress length version using the correct grain of this strange sweater fabric from Joann’s. Verdict, I love this dress but hate the pattern drafting. I encountered the same problems from my previous post when I made the top. The collar piece is like 10 inches too long and is way larger than the neckline. I double check the pattern and I did not make a mistake. I also used knit stay tape on the neckline and all bias edges, stabilized the shoulder seam with woven bias, and stay stitched neckline after cutting my fabric.  I lengthened the sleeves as well. 


I do love the design, and really need a sweater dress like this.  But I am done and moving on. 

I purchased a bunch of fabric using my Xmas gift certificates.  I am trying to decide what to see next. I need warm pants and more long sleeve warm things. Maybe I will make a pant length version of the love notions summer caye shorts/culottes.  Not sure what fabric to use as I want warm pants but the pattern calls for flowy fabric. I found somebody who used chambray. Maybe that will work? 

I also got the Colette moneta pattern kit during craftsy’s clearance sale. And I have the love notions trendy tunic pattern all cut and ready to start. I can’t decide what to tackle next?  

Hope your new year is off to a great start. 

Kelly

Leave a Reply

