McCalls 5974 – a faux wrap dress. 

Hi! Well, I have quite a backlog of projects to post. Better late then never, right?  First up is McCalls 5974. 

I made view C with the short sleeves. I used a mid weight cotton jersey. I also lined the skirt front and the entire back piece. I sewed a size 14 at bust grading to 18 at hips, but ended up taking an inch off each side. I also lengthened the tie so I could wrap it around like is shown on the cover model. 


I like Palmer/pletch patterns for the multiple cup sizes. I did modify the faux wrap neckline as shown below:


This little bit help it from being too low cut on me. I managed to stretch out the neckline,I stitched clear elastic to it. I had to turn it a second time and stitch to fix the neck. I also need to tack the wrap part closed. 

I really like this dress, it is a good all occasion dress – a wardrobe staple. 

Kelly

Leave a Reply

